Buffon beats Ronaldo and Messi to Golden Foot award

By Isoccer Staff

Juventus and Italy goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon has fended off competition from Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi to win the Golden Foot award.

As reported by Goal, the prize is given to active players aged 28 or over who stand out for their athletic achievements and their personality.

The Golden Foot award is only able to be won once by players, with Samuel Eto’o having been given the award in 2015, while Andres Iniesta was the victor in 2014.

The winner of the award leaves a permanent mould of their footprints on the “Champions Promenade” in Monaco.

Despite being 38 years old Buffon remains one of the standout goalkeepers in world football and has made an average of 1.29 saves per game in Serie A this season.

Buffon made a rare error in Italy’s 1-1 draw with Spain last week, but he is usually a dependable performer and will certainly go down in history as one of the all-time greats for both club and country.

This post has already been read 997 times!

Related Stories

Sharing makes the world a better place:
Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on Twitter4Pin on Pinterest0Email this to someone