Mikel, Iheanacho and Ighalo lead Siasia’s 42-man killer squad for Egypt

By Richard Johnson

by kayode OGUNDARE

Samson Siasia effectively commenced preparations for the African Cup of Nations qualifiers double-header against Egypt later this year with the release of a 42-man squad comprising 22 home based players and 20 foreign based stars.

The interim Super Eagles coach announced the squad in Abuja on Thursday during a press conference with Chelsea midfielder Mikel Obi leading the England quartet of Kelechi Iheanacho, Odion Ighalo, Alex Iwobi and Victor Moses.

Other regulars are CSKA Moscow’s Ahmed Musa, Monaco’s Elderson Echiejile and Lazio’s Ogenyi Onazi. Lokomotiv Moscow’s Aaron Samuel and South Africa-based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi also return after a lengthy absence.
However, there are no places for Mainz’s Leon Balogun and Oliseh favourites AS Trencin’s Rabiu Ibrahim and Sylvester Igboun based in Russia.

Chisom Chikatara, who just joined Morroco’s Wydad Casablanca, is listed as home-based.
Fanendo Adi, 25, of Major League Soccer side Portland Timbers is one of the big surprises in the list. Striker Adi scored 16 goals in 33 MLS games last season. This is his first senior call-up.
Onazi is suspended for the first leg in Nigeria due to red card he copped in the last qualifying series in which Nigeria ultimately failed to make it to the finals in Equitorial Guinea but he will be eligible for the potentially all-important second leg in Egypt.

The first of the two matches will be held in Kaduna on 25 March with the return billed for Alexandria four days later.
The full Eagles 42-man list:
Home-based players
Ikechukwu Ezenwa
Olufemi Thomas
Emmanuel Daniel
Austin Obaroakpo
Kalu Orji
Chibuzor Okonkwo
Matthew Etim
Sincere Seth
Segun Oduduwa
Chima Akas
Chris Madaki
Oke Ogogatewho
Ifeanyi Matthew
Usman Mohammed
Etebo Oghenekaro
Prince Aggreh
Bright Onyekachi
Ezekiel Bassey
Chisom Chikatara
Godwin Obaje
Yau Hassan
Overseas-based players
Carl Ikeme
Daniel Akpeyi
Efe Ambrose
Shehu Abdullahi
Elderson Echiejile
Stanley Amuzie
Godfrey Oboabona
Kenneth Omeruo
Ogenyi Onazi
John Mikel Obi
Kelechi Iheanacho
Azubuike Okechukwu
Ahmed Musa
Victor Moses
Odion Ighalo
Alex Iwobi
Aminu Umar
Aaron Samuel
Fanendo Adi
Moses Simon

This post has already been read 933 times!

Related Stories

Sharing makes the world a better place:
Share on Facebook21Tweet about this on Twitter0Pin on Pinterest0Email this to someone